Log In   |   Sign Up

Advertisement

Busch Gardens Tampa Bay Howl-O-Scream Reviews

 
« Back To Profile Leave A Review »
  • 3000 East Busch Blvd
  • Tampa, FL
  • 888-800-5447
Details
Average Review
Review Me
Scare Factor
Scary
Appropriate For
Not appropriate for young children.
Organization Type
Commercial / For Profit
Listing Categories
Haunted Houses, Zombie Hunts & Shootouts, Scream Parks, Other Events
Review This Haunt
  • Email Verified Never miss this place

    I and GF always wanted to explore haunted houses, and Busch Gardens had six of them. Stunt performers on the streets gave an aggressive performance. The makeup and masks of actors in Howl O Scream were scary and impressive. The stilt walker in Unearthed made her scream. Special effects in Insomnia house and Unearthed requires special mention. The staff were friendly and cooperative. Never to miss this place if you’re ever visiting Florida.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted April 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Good haunt

    Good haunt with innovative scares, startling effects and professional performance. Rates were pretty reasonable too.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted February 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Great time, well spent

    Over the past few years I have been attending Howl-O-Scream and it always was great fun. If you are a Halloween freak, you are gonna love this place. There are haunted houses, scare zones, live shows and lots to drink and eat. The best about this place is that they send people in small groups so there is enough timing and room for the actors to perform. This has enhanced the quality of scares. Insomnia was my personal favorite. The asylum theme was inviting and we got lost in the maze several times. The scares were like out of a nightmare. The slaughterhouse was for people 17+ as it was quite violent. We were split into small groups and were asked to explore from different rooms. This was really cool. Toys you would recognize from childhood rehashed into deadly avatars with chainsaw will make you scream and howl. Great time well spent within our budget.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Thrilling scare zones

    Howl-O-Scream is certainly different from other haunts and definitely in a good way. With six separate houses and scare zones, they reinvent each year and it always gets better. A few areas are quite intense and gore and are recommended only for 17 and above, and that includes the gutsy mean market and thunderous slaughter house. The actors knew their job and performed each scare with so much enthusiasm. They were so in the character. The bungee actors in the swamp evoked a lot of fun and laughter. Definitely going to come back.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Deathwater Bayou was awesome

    I must admit that Busch Gardens had some spine-chilling terrors. Insomnia got the better of my GF and she screamed non-stop. It had some scary special effects including projections and lighting effects. Flickering flashlights in Unearthed gave a glance of the details in the dark corners of the house and it provided a distraction therein amplifying the scares. Special effects in Deathwater Bayou was also awesome. Overall, it was a nice scary experience. Recommend this place.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Lots of scary moments

    The rides in the dark was its highlight. A monster or a creepy character might be giving you company. The scares are spread across the pathways and it will scare the crap out of you when you’re least expecting it. The haunts also got some bone chilling scary moments. Insomnia house was my favourite. Ticket rates were reasonable too. I will visit this place again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Scary yet fun

    Scary yet fun was what I had in mind as we left Howl-O-Scream. At Unearthed, we were given a flashlight and were asked to search and rescue the excavators. The dark lanes are of course infested with scares and are claustrophobic. The visual effects were amazing and got us on our nerves. The sound effects were the real winners. Most of the scares were out of the blue accompanied with acoustic sounds that had us jump a few times. Scare zones had its share in lifting the fun and fear factors. Will visit again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Never miss this place

    I and GF always wanted to explore haunted houses, and Busch Gardens had six of them. Stunt performers on the streets gave an aggressive performance. The makeup and masks of actors in Howl O Scream were scary and impressive. The stilt walker in Unearthed made her scream. Special effects in Insomnia house and Unearthed requires special mention. The staff were friendly and cooperative. Never to miss this place if you’re ever visiting Florida.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted April 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Good haunt

    Good haunt with innovative scares, startling effects and professional performance. Rates were pretty reasonable too.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted February 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Great time, well spent

    Over the past few years I have been attending Howl-O-Scream and it always was great fun. If you are a Halloween freak, you are gonna love this place. There are haunted houses, scare zones, live shows and lots to drink and eat. The best about this place is that they send people in small groups so there is enough timing and room for the actors to perform. This has enhanced the quality of scares. Insomnia was my personal favorite. The asylum theme was inviting and we got lost in the maze several times. The scares were like out of a nightmare. The slaughterhouse was for people 17+ as it was quite violent. We were split into small groups and were asked to explore from different rooms. This was really cool. Toys you would recognize from childhood rehashed into deadly avatars with chainsaw will make you scream and howl. Great time well spent within our budget.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Thrilling scare zones

    Howl-O-Scream is certainly different from other haunts and definitely in a good way. With six separate houses and scare zones, they reinvent each year and it always gets better. A few areas are quite intense and gore and are recommended only for 17 and above, and that includes the gutsy mean market and thunderous slaughter house. The actors knew their job and performed each scare with so much enthusiasm. They were so in the character. The bungee actors in the swamp evoked a lot of fun and laughter. Definitely going to come back.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Deathwater Bayou was awesome

    I must admit that Busch Gardens had some spine-chilling terrors. Insomnia got the better of my GF and she screamed non-stop. It had some scary special effects including projections and lighting effects. Flickering flashlights in Unearthed gave a glance of the details in the dark corners of the house and it provided a distraction therein amplifying the scares. Special effects in Deathwater Bayou was also awesome. Overall, it was a nice scary experience. Recommend this place.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Lots of scary moments

    The rides in the dark was its highlight. A monster or a creepy character might be giving you company. The scares are spread across the pathways and it will scare the crap out of you when you’re least expecting it. The haunts also got some bone chilling scary moments. Insomnia house was my favourite. Ticket rates were reasonable too. I will visit this place again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Scary yet fun

    Scary yet fun was what I had in mind as we left Howl-O-Scream. At Unearthed, we were given a flashlight and were asked to search and rescue the excavators. The dark lanes are of course infested with scares and are claustrophobic. The visual effects were amazing and got us on our nerves. The sound effects were the real winners. Most of the scares were out of the blue accompanied with acoustic sounds that had us jump a few times. Scare zones had its share in lifting the fun and fear factors. Will visit again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Perfect blend of horror and thrill

    Excellent Halloween themes and roller coaster rides to add a new taste of adventure. Admission fee is a bit costly than other traditional houses, but this place deserves this price. A perfect blend of horror, thrill and adventure. All actors have done well in scaring us. We screamed, jumped and ran in all haunted houses. Zombie Paintball is the best we enjoyed and loved to be there again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Scare zones were awesome

    Real scare is out here at Howl-O-Scream. We had a great time and enjoyed well. Scare zones were really awesome. I am not that easily scared but this one startled me a couple of times. It is a fun place for who have adventure spirit in heart.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Tons of scares

    There were 7 haunted houses.. we went to 4 of them.. not to mention, all were pretty scary. The ticket rates were also OK for the scare you get to enjoy. Would recommend this place to scare lovers.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Loved the whole experience

    Loved the whole experience. Scare factor is good, team spirit was highly appreciable. Actors were so dedicated in entertain each visitors. We enjoyed 5 rides then moved to the haunted house and scare zone. Overall it was great time at Howl-O-Scream.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Lots of scares and laughs

    Events were all good. Fun scares and lots of laughs. We had been through all rides and scare zones. I really felt like I have done something adventurous when I came out. Haunted house was very thrilling experience.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Really scary

    I was nagging my BF to visit a haunt house, and this time he said yes. The haunted houses and scares were pretty good.. it got me couple of times.. he seems to have enjoyed me screaming and jumping.. the actors all did a great job.. but I would recommend people to get fast passes convenience.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Impressive scare zones, bit pricey though

    The haunted houses were great.. the sets and themes were impressive. It scared me more than thrice.. the scare zones were impressive as well. I appreciate the fact that there is space between people and that gives you the room and time to get scared. The prices were a bit high.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified All 7 haunts were magnificent

    Amazing performance by actors. All seven haunted places are having different themes and special effects with magnificent animatronics did the rest. Queues are long, but we have fast pass to skip the line. The scare zone through out the park was stunning. Alcohol and food were available at reasonable price. Loved it!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Wow....superb haunt

    Wow!! We got here last weekend in a group of five friends. Fortunate to have the fast pass to skip the long queues and straight get into the real action. All haunted houses are well designed in themes and professional actors did the right job of scaring us till the end. Perfect ambience for scare zones and we all experience the roller coaster ride. Thanks Busch Garden for an amazing hang out.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Scared us like a hell

    Astonished. This is what I can write. All scare houses, rides and shows are well packed in a package to deliver a perfect entertaining evening. Excellent themes and amazing actors in a perfect make up scared us like a hell, especially the girl in white paint on the face. Kudos to the management.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Getting Better, but Not as Scary as Past Years

    2016 was definitely a better year for HOS, especially their Motel Hell. But some of their other haunts, Circus and Unearthed particularly, are feeling a little tired and like they don't have the effort anymore. Hoping they amp it up more this year.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: > 1 hour
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Unsure
    Posted July 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Better than HHN!

    I go here EVERY year! HOS NEVER disappoints! The actors are phenomenal and you really feel like it's real. People chase you and in the houses you get thrown into complete darkness at times and you aren't safe anywhere in the park. I recommend HOS to everyone I know. Wouldn't miss it for anything!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: > 1 hour
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: No
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Outstanding!

    Dollar for dollar, HowlOScream is hands-down a better event than Universal HHN.Having seen them both in back-to-back years, I'll save some moneynnext year and just see HowlOScream.

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Great show for all

    great show my son was terrified. but they kill you on extras wanting more money for some houses. the line is long and hard for handicapped to wait in.

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • so much fun

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Amazing!

    This year for HowlOScream was the best I think. I went with the family and we couldn't stop laughing and screaming. We couldn't pick the best one! If you want to get scared, this is the place to go!!!

    Posted October 2012

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Scared stiff

    Went to several in Georgia i won't give there names but this has got to be the best in the land. My hair on the back of my neck still is up. Keep up the great job. I hope to come back next year.

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • FREAKIN CRAZY!!

    I PISSED MY PANTS! AND SQUIRTED IN MY TIGHTY WHITIES!!!! BEST FREAK SHOW EVERRRRR! MUST GO TO THIS! Anyone who thinks they won't s*#t their pants??? WILLL!

    Posted September 2010

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • The scariest out there!

    Howl-O-Scream knows how to put on a frightening event. The sets are great looking and the actors are REALLY into their jobs. Go, you won't be disappointed!!!!

    Posted September 2009

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • BETTER THAN SIX FLAGGS!

    AWESOME! So fun! Six Flaggs I s Really great but this was AWESOME!

    Posted October 2008

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

Review This Attraction

  • Click to rate
  • Do not use all capital letters. No profanity.
  • Be specific - the more details the better. No HTML.
  • Administrative use only. Will NOT be displayed
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • I have more to say about this haunt (optional)
  • Would you recommended to a friend?
  • Suitable for families with kids?